WG E: Innovation and Safer by Design

Chair: Andrew Nelson (University of Leeds)

Co-Chair: Claire Skentelbery (NIA)


The Innovation and Safe by Design working group integrates the old WG9. The proposal is to have one sub WG “Innovation” and the other subgroup on WG “Regulation”. It would make it easier to create a strong profile of the “new NSC” dedicating work to each of these two disciplines. SbD is a “tool” that underpins both of these activities.

If you would like to participate in the activities of WGE please contact Andrew Nelson (A.L.Nelson@leeds.ac.uk) or subscribe to the WG's mailing list here.

You can also visit the “Industrial Innovation Liaison (i2L)” subgroup, which is part in the NanoSafety Cluster as well as in the European Pilot Production Network as a cross-linking working group. This group is bringing together all nano-safety relevant experts from pilot-line/production projects, hence, real-life and application-oriented nanosafety and safe by design expertise. More information can be found here.